Aeolian Islands

The Aeolian Islands, also called Lipari Islands are an archipelago of volcanic origin, located in the Tyrrhenian Sea north of Sicily. They include two active volcanoes, Stromboli and Vulcano, as well as various phenomena of secondary volcanism the archipelago consists of: Alicudi, Filicudi, Lipari, Panarea (with the islands of basaltic Basiluzzo, Dattilo, Lisca Bianca and Lisca Nera), Salina, Stromboli (with the nearby rock to Strombolicchio), Volcano. In 2000 the Aeolian have been named World Heritage Site by UNESCO for the volcanic phenomena.
Increasingly popular tourist destination is now considered a cult of navigation in the Mediterranean.